Cathedral celebrates Australia Day Honours recipients

St Paul’s Cathedral congratulates several members of our community past and present who have been recognised in the Australia Day 2023 Honours List.

Emeritus Professor Bruce Tonge AO, a member of the Cathedral Congregation, was recognised for his distinguished service to psychiatric medicine and research, to tertiary education, to youth, and to the community. 

Professor Bruce Thompson AM, Head of the Melbourne School of Health Sciences and former Lay Clerk, was recognised for his significant service to respiratory medicine, and to tertiary medical education. Prof. Thompson also serves on the board of Kooyoora Ltd, the independent Professional Standards company which undertakes work on behalf of the Anglican Diocese of Melbourne. 

Dr Donald (Don) Markwell AM, former Warden of Trinity College and past Lay Canon of the Cathedral, was recognised for his significant service to education in a range of roles. Dr Markwell is currently the Master of St Mark’s College in Adelaide. 

We congratulate and thank all the Australian Day Honours recipients for their outstanding service and contributions. 

Two Lay Clerks named as City of Boroondara Young Citizen of the Year

Mayor of Boroondara Council, Cr Felicity Sinfield (centre) pictured with Ben Zhou.

Brothers Mike and Ben Zhou, who are both Lay Clerks of the Cathedral Choir, have together been awarded the City of Boroondara Young Citizen of the Year Award for their continued contribution to their community. Every Christmas over the last 13 years, Mike and Ben have played across the Boroondara Council Area, where all proceeds have been donated to charity.

The judges were impressed by Mike and Ben’s dedication over many years, and how they have inspired other young people to perform, also donating proceeds to charity.

On behalf of the Cathedral Community, we send our congratulations to Mike and Ben!